Wednesday, February 10, 2010


IM Oliver Barbosa scored six points on five wins and two draws to bag the title along with the P15,000 champion's purse of the 2010 Kidapawan Open held at the Kidapawan Convention Center on February 5 to 7, 2010.

IM Oliver Barbosa who had a brief but fruitful campaign in the US chess circuit highlighted by his topping of the 2009 New York International Open, was the top seed
of the three-day event organized by the Kidapawan Chess Club Inc., in cooperation with the City Government of Kidapawan and Batch 85-Notre Dame of Kidapawan Boys and Girls HS Alumni Association Inc.

(IM Oliver Barbosa in action during the 17 boards simul chess exhibition against the top players of the Metro Toril Chess Association held on November 14, 2009 at the Toril Chess Plaza, Davao City. )

Three other players also scored 6 points each, including national masters Levi Mercado and Rustum Tolentino of Cagayan de Oro City, and Harrison Maamo of Davao City, but Barbosa emerged the champion due to a higher tie-break.

Mercado, the 2009 Mayor Jaraula Cup Champion, placed second, while Tolentino and Maamo took the third and fourth spots, respectively. Mercado won P10,000, while Tolentino settled for P5,000.

Cotabato City pride NM Sarip Roger gained fifth place with 5.5 points, while 10 woodpushers, including dethroned defending champion NM Edgar Reggie Olay, scored five points to share sixth to 15th places.

Cagayan de Oro's Jhonnel Balquin, Davao City's Peter Tidoy, Koronadal City's Cesar Apalla, Digos City's Lito Laput, General Santos City's Ric Portogalera, Panabo City's NM Cedric Magno and Henry Lopez, Surallah's Ferdinand Leysa, and Kidapawan City's Bob Salanga all finished with five points.

Kidapawan City's Philip John Leyson Jr., 2009 Shell Active Chess national finalist, was awarded the Best Junior Player of the tournament after scoring 4.5 points.

Special awards were also given to Davao City's John Ray Batucan as Best Kiddie Player with 4.5 points and Nikki Erica Yngayo as Best Female Player with 4 points. They also received medals and cash prizes.

Toril bet Henry Fajardo made an early run scoring 4 points in the 1st 4 rounds beating in the process IM Candidate and defending champion Reggie Olay, Henry Lopez and US Master Peter Tidoy. However, he lost steam and failed to score in the last 3 rounds.

Dr. Ted P. Calica, Kidapawan City Chess Club Inc. president, and city sports coordinator Ramil Deldo led the awarding of trophies, medals and cash prizes to the winners.


  1. hi, hope you don't mind. If I link this to

    It's going to be on this thread: