Thursday, January 20, 2011


( NCR- South represented by Adamson University featuring Chris Palma on board 1 vs. Eastern Mindanao represented by University of Mindanao with Jong Guevarra Jr. playing on board 1 in 3rd round action in the 1992 National PRISAA games chess tourney. Nofre Reyes is on 4th board)

Afer almost 20 years, the core members of the 1992 U.M Maroons varsity team will battle it out against their counterpart the Ateneo De Davao Blue Eagles varsity selection in a reunion chess match set on February 5, 2011. The goodwill match will be a single round schevenigen system whereby each player play all the players of the oposing team once.

The Players for Ateneo:

( Nap in Singapore )

1. NAPOLEON C. RECOSOSA- An engineer by profession. Ateneo BS Civil Engineering batch of 2001. On vacation from his work in Singapore. Placed among the top ten in the Far East Bank Region XI chess tourney in the 1990's.

[Chris Yap (in polo shirt ) vs. Adrian Llanos ]

2. CHRIS YAP - An accountant by profession. Is now the manager of One Network Bank Toril Branch. Plays on-line chess at

(James in action vs. Bembem Quiñonez in the recently held Blue Jazz tourney)

3. JAMES INFIESTO- One of the sought after host/entertainer of Davao City. Is the chess coordinator of NCFP for Region XI and the deputy head of the Davao Sports Office.

The players for UM:

[Anthony Mosqueda vs. Atty. Jong Guevarra (with hat).

1. ATTY. JONG GUEVARRA JR. - A practising lawyer by profession. Two time U.M champion.

( Erwin Tubog vs. Nofre Reyes )

2. NOFRE REYES- A former member of the Davao City team to the National inter-cities.

( Alfred Moulic officiating the DCAA competition)

3. ALFRED MOULIC- A noted chess arbiter/organizer/tutor of Davao City.

Sunday, January 9, 2011


Belated Happy New Year to All!!

The year ended with a bang for Davao chess as the players held a 3 in 1 event hosted by Atty Jong Guevarra at his rest house at Eden, Bayabas, Toril, Davao City on December 26, 2010. The event was a Christmas Party for the Metro Toril Chess club, a reunion of University of Mindanao (U.M) varsity players and a revenge match between the Davao Veterans and the Davao Youngtars.

(Engr. Atmosfera and Atty. Jong Guevarra analyzing the game of NM Macala vs. JR Batucan ).

The highlight of the event was the match whereby the Davao Veterans scored a thrilling 4.5-3.5 match victory against the Davao Youngstars to avenge the previous loss suffered in the 1st Atty. Jong Guevarra Cup- Youth vs. Experience match. This time around the veterans team was composed of Osmeña Park Chess Club regulars NM Aki Macala, CM Nazario Ubanan and CM Harrison Maamo. They were reinforced by Panabo City's pride and Youth vs. Experience I participant NM Cedric Magno. The Youngstars were composed of Toril's pride Austin Jacob Literatus, John Ray Batucan and Erwin Tubog Jr. with Jerwell Andoy completing the four man team.

( NM Magno vs. Jerwell Andoy)

in the 1st round the Youngstars played with the disadvantageous black pieces but surprisingly scored a 3-1 victory with wins by Literatus, Andoy and Tubog against Ubanan, Magno and Maamo respectively. Macala scored the lone win against Batucan. The Youngstars celebration was short lived however, as the Veterans proved their resiliency by scoring a 3.5- 0.5 victory in the 2nd round with only John Ray Batucan able to hold a draw against NM Aki Macala. The Youngstars, it seems played for just a draw, and played passively and eventually got into time trouble. The winning team won P 10,500.00

The event was also graced by NM Jonathan Tan who despite his busy business schedule came to greet the players and sponsored an instant ubusan to the delight of the players.

( Kainan time )

Past and present U.M varsity players who attended the event were Jimmy Dano, Lito Laput, Nofre Reyes, Alfred Moulic, Harrison Maamo, Glen Paclar, Atty. Jong Guevarra, Adrian Llanos, Arnold Placiencia and Reynaldo Gempero. Also present was Rey Amable who was a member of the 1986-87 U.M Engineering chess team where the core of the succeeding UM varsity players were taken.

The event would not be possible without the support and the cooperation of the players. Special mention goes to Glen Paclar, NM Jonathan Tan, Atty. Jong Guevarra and Engr. Jun Atmosfera.