Sunday, January 9, 2011


Belated Happy New Year to All!!

The year ended with a bang for Davao chess as the players held a 3 in 1 event hosted by Atty Jong Guevarra at his rest house at Eden, Bayabas, Toril, Davao City on December 26, 2010. The event was a Christmas Party for the Metro Toril Chess club, a reunion of University of Mindanao (U.M) varsity players and a revenge match between the Davao Veterans and the Davao Youngtars.

(Engr. Atmosfera and Atty. Jong Guevarra analyzing the game of NM Macala vs. JR Batucan ).

The highlight of the event was the match whereby the Davao Veterans scored a thrilling 4.5-3.5 match victory against the Davao Youngstars to avenge the previous loss suffered in the 1st Atty. Jong Guevarra Cup- Youth vs. Experience match. This time around the veterans team was composed of OsmeƱa Park Chess Club regulars NM Aki Macala, CM Nazario Ubanan and CM Harrison Maamo. They were reinforced by Panabo City's pride and Youth vs. Experience I participant NM Cedric Magno. The Youngstars were composed of Toril's pride Austin Jacob Literatus, John Ray Batucan and Erwin Tubog Jr. with Jerwell Andoy completing the four man team.

( NM Magno vs. Jerwell Andoy)

in the 1st round the Youngstars played with the disadvantageous black pieces but surprisingly scored a 3-1 victory with wins by Literatus, Andoy and Tubog against Ubanan, Magno and Maamo respectively. Macala scored the lone win against Batucan. The Youngstars celebration was short lived however, as the Veterans proved their resiliency by scoring a 3.5- 0.5 victory in the 2nd round with only John Ray Batucan able to hold a draw against NM Aki Macala. The Youngstars, it seems played for just a draw, and played passively and eventually got into time trouble. The winning team won P 10,500.00

The event was also graced by NM Jonathan Tan who despite his busy business schedule came to greet the players and sponsored an instant ubusan to the delight of the players.

( Kainan time )

Past and present U.M varsity players who attended the event were Jimmy Dano, Lito Laput, Nofre Reyes, Alfred Moulic, Harrison Maamo, Glen Paclar, Atty. Jong Guevarra, Adrian Llanos, Arnold Placiencia and Reynaldo Gempero. Also present was Rey Amable who was a member of the 1986-87 U.M Engineering chess team where the core of the succeeding UM varsity players were taken.

The event would not be possible without the support and the cooperation of the players. Special mention goes to Glen Paclar, NM Jonathan Tan, Atty. Jong Guevarra and Engr. Jun Atmosfera.

No comments:

Post a Comment