Sunday, March 27, 2011


[Harrison Maamo ( in black shirt with blue collars )pondering his move against Davao Youngstar's Erwin Tubog Jr. during the Davao Veterans vs. Youngstars -II match]

Harrison Maamo dominated the opposition to emerged as the 2011 Araw ng Davao Open champion. The Panabo City native had a perfect tourney with 7 points at the end of the 7 rounds swiss system tourney. Along the way, he scored wins against notable players the likes of FM John Ray Batucan, Irwin Aton, Rodrigo Catayas, Jerwell Andoy plus a big win against Henry Lopez in the 7th round. He received the champion's prize of P 5,000.00 + trophy courtesy of the City Governmnent of Davao.

Runner-up honors went to Jayson Salubre who scored 6.5 points punctuated by a last round win against Jay Bulicatin. Third placer via tie break surprisingly went to junior stand-out Aglipay 8 Oberio with 6 points who won against Carlo Doctolero in the last round. Vincent Umayan was another 6 pointer with a last round win against Jake Milagrosa. FM Austin Jacob Literatus joined the 6 pointers with a crucial win against Jerwell Andoy in the last round.

A total of 116 players participated in the tournament. The tourney was sponsored by Davao City Mayor Inday Sara Duterte and Vice Mayor Rody Duterte with the following prizes: champion 5000, 2nd 2500 3rd 1500, 4th 750, 5th 750.

For further details of the final standing, just click

No comments:

Post a Comment